In His Word Today?

imagesCA8QUY0N

Psalm 119:10–11 With my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments! I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.

Our pastor challenged us to be in the word everyday. Not just pick up the Bible and read it, but prepare our hearts to “receive” it. Like hard soil that must be broken, tilled, weeded, and purged of stones, we should open the soil of our heart and allow the Lord to dig deep, root out, and make ready our souls to receive all He has for us in His word. “Don’t just get into the word. Let the word get into YOU!” Said a pastor not that long ago. Let it be true.

Today, I have no special devotion prepared with great study and lengthy seeking of the Lord. Today, I simply have an exhortation – rise up, pick up your Bible and read. One-year Bible plans are easy; you just pick up on today’s reading and get started. Pick a Psalm to meditate on this week or a short epistle to read completely through like a letter. If time is an issue, pick up Proverbs and read one chapter; there are 31 – a chapter a day and you’re through the entire book! Most of all, start your reading with honest prayer, asking God to prepare your heart as you humbly read His love letter to you. Every day for a week (to start) of getting into His word, allowing His word to get into YOU and watch and see what happens.

This is the busiest time of the year for me at work. I understand your challenge.  But after spending all this time with God as I write these blogs, I solemly declare: I cannot make it through the day without Him, without His word – it is changing my life in ways I cannot even express. 4:30 a.m. comes along and I can’t wait to see what He has for me. I can’t help but give Him my all.

Seek Him out today and everyday. You’ll never be the same.

Psalm 119:9–11

How can a young man keep his way pure?

By guarding it according to your word.

With my whole heart I seek you;

let me not wander from your commandments!

I have stored up your word in my heart,

that I might not sin against you.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

3 responses to “In His Word Today?

Leave a Reply

