My Soul Thirsts for Him

Psalm 42:1–2 As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God?

There have been times when my schedule has owned me. Days would go by, sometimes weeks, and not a moment would be set aside for time for God. Plodding along, as if running through tar, I would struggle through each day. Little by little my countenance changing as my soul became dry, my endurance waning, my spirit starving for sustenance. At the end of myself, I would realize – I have not been sitting under the endless springs of Heaven, lapping in the waters of eternal life, refreshing my soul with His word, being comforted by His Spirit and renewed every morning with sweet mercy and grace.

So, today – I will take time to sit with my Abba, seeking Him. How else will I be able to follow hard after Him if I am not spending time with Him, in His throne room, at His feet worshiping or in His lap enjoying all the love and affection He has to give? While today’s time in His word has not been spent studying, digging deeper into the wonders of scripture and marveling at deep meaning; I am warmed by the love letter He breathed into His word for me.

Take time, even if it’s a little time, to drink in His word. Spend a moment in His presence. Through your day, seek Him diligently in prayer and worship. While the world may not see your heart on your knees or your soul raising thankful hands in praise, it will see the glory of His presence flowing from your heart like an overflowing river! Watch as others draw near, thirsty for the gift God has given you. Be ready to share the reason for your joy – even through your grueling day.

 Psalm 73:25–26 Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

