The One True God

Deuteronomy 32:39 “ ‘See now that I, even I, am he, and there is no god beside me’ “

In contrast to other world religions and those of ancient times, we Christians commit our lives in complete allegiance to the one, true God. We cannot imagine ourselves partaking in the barbaric practices we read about in the Old Testament; bowing down to carved images or sacrificing our children to worship false gods. We pray for, and even grieve over, the lost souls around the world who are deceived by such practices. We have put our trust in God and believe in Jesus Christ, our only Savior.

But have we made Him our ONLY God or have we set other gods before Him? Have we crafted our own definition of God and made Him something He is not? We should be careful to consider our own perception and understanding of our one and only, true God. Many a well intending believer has fallen into his or her own deceptive interpretation. It is easy to create for ourselves our own image of Him according to what we want or need, developing a self-made image of God not Biblically-based. Especially during times of temptation, rebellion and suffering, we can easily be persuaded by our own way of thinking to fashion for ourselves a new image of god, representing our philosophies and ideas, ready to bless our rebellious deeds. Left to our own understanding, our paper-mâché version will both fail us and bring is into further corruption. Whether it is a radical deviation from the truth or a subtle variance, any form of god created in our own thoughts and minds is a complete counterfeit to the TRUE God revealed through the Holy Scriptures.

But when we believe God is the One True God – when we take Him at face value as He is revealed to us through His Word – we absolutely, without any doubt, believe He is more than able to do anything and everything beyond all we can think or can imagine. We then have the kind of faith that kept Daniel safe in the fiery furnace; faith that gave the boy, David courage before the giant, Goliath; and faith that gave the disciples boldness to preach the Gospel under persecution. Keeping the foundation of such divine knowledge firmly rooted in God’s word frees us continually put our trust in Him without fear or doubt, worshiping Him wholeheartedly and sharing the Gospel confidently. We are sure, no trial or period of suffering is able move our understanding of Him. We firmly believe; He alone stands above all as the one and only TRUE GOD OF ALL.

Isaiah 43:10–11 “You are my witnesses,” declares the Lord, and my servant whom I have chosen, that you may know and believe me and understand that I am he.  Before me no god was formed, nor shall there be any after me. I, I am the Lord…”

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

