Incomprehensible

Job 11:7–8 “Can you find out the deep things of God? Can you find out the limit of the Almighty? It is higher than heaven—

When I was a child I would frequently wonder about God. He is our Creator, but He needed no one to create Him. He is greater than the Heavens, yet we can not measure the heavens. He can be in all places all at the same time and be active in all things with purpose and care. I can barely focus on the cereal box in front of me at breakfast. Trying to wrap my tiny little brain around the incomprehensible God would often bring me to tears. I felt so insignificant.

One day my 7-year old son came up to me in tears, troubled to his little core. “Mom, I want to understand God. But I can’t!” As I held him I realized, he never asked me to explain God. I held him and comforted him with words I can hardly remember.  We both sat there realizing: God is past our understanding or our explanation. I shared how, in Jesus, God incarnate, we experience God’s character, His great love for us, His perfect compassion, His wisdom, His headship, His command and power over all things and His merciful restrain. Even then we were both in awe of His majesty and might wrapped up in flesh. In that moment, with my young son in my arms, we accepted – “Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.” (1Cor 13:12 ).

What we do know: He loves us. His love was made known to us in the life, death and resurrection of His only Son, Jesus Christ. God – the almighty, incomprehensible, whom all things were created, both great and small, looked upon my little son, He looked upon me, He looked upon YOU and poured out His infinite love and mercy by sending Jesus to die for our sins, paying the price for our iniquity, so that we would know Him FULLY. Through the power of the Holy Spirit we know Him and experience Him to the extent our finite human state is able. We are His; simply HIS. Someday, when we pass from this life into the next, we will know. We will be in the presence of the One we could barely perceive and know Him fully. O what a glorious future we have! The very thought of which should consume us and move us to deep, self-abandoned, undignified, worship!

Romans 11:33–36 Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways! “For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who has been his counselor?” “Or who has given a gift to him that he might be repaid?” For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.

 

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a comment