“I AM WHO I AM”

???????????????????????

Exodus 3:14 … “I AM WHO I AM”

Moses was probably expecting a more flamboyant delivery message to a suffering people awaiting deliverance from God, whom they believed, had abandoned them. It wasn’t enough that God himself promised Moses: “But I will be with you and this shall be a sign for you, that I have sent you: when you have brought the people out of Egypt, you shall serve God on this mountain.” God said it. That should be enough, right? Moses, like many of us, trusted in only the things he could see and doubted the people he was to declare this message of deliverance to would believe him. How would these words convince God’s people the man standing before them was going to walk them out of Egypt from under the oppression of a mighty, powerful, and resourceful Pharaoh?  Moses, even while hearing the voice of God himself, could not fully fathom the powerful, ever present, and self-existent GOD ALMIGHTY.

Have you been there? Wrapped up in your circumstances, solutions to which seem impossible, and you have to deliver a message of hope to people counting on a miraculous outcome? Many of us have. We want the full picture, the answer to every impossible situation spelled out in black and white and the outcome laid out in crystal clear imagery. The message of hope for a better future would be better accepted if we had earthly resources as our answer; armies, technology, grandeur and spectacles of power and might. Then, we believe, they would see God is here, God is working, God will deliver. But, God doesn’t work that way. He uses the weak things of the world to confound the wise. In all of scripture we do not see God using mighty men, huge armies, men of wisdom or stature, or women of culture or refinement. No, he chooses the old man, the young boy, the woman of ill-repute, a tiny cloud in the sky, an empty oil jar, an army reduced to a few men – all to achieve the impossible.

Today, whatever your circumstance, trust God. While we depend on modern medicine for a cure, wise investing to keep money secure and careful planning to avert catastrophes in the future; ultimately – trust God. He depends on nothing. He is who He is. He is beyond time and space. He is bound by nothing. He is ALL powerful, ALL knowing, EVER present…and He loves you. He has set His affections upon you. You are HIS child. No matter what you face today, HE is your God. He is the “I AM.” HE is all you need.

Trust Him.

Isaiah 46:9 …for I am God, and there is no other, I am God, and there is none like me…

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

4 responses to ““I AM WHO I AM”

Leave a Reply

