Work-Life Balance

work life balance

 

Luke 3:10 And the crowds asked him, “What then shall we do?”

Work-life balance is a challenge for many. Right now, it is especially true for me. For those of us who desire to love God with all we are, we can become disillusioned with unrealistic expectations of what that life looks like: life with work, life with family, life with friends, and life serving God. How does someone manage it all without letting one area of life or more suffer?

This morning I am overwhelmed with a hard question: if my career and sustaining the comforts of this life occupy all of my thoughts and all of my day, how then can I say I am completely sold out for God? I see others who spend their time in church ministry, helping others, serving missionaries or on the mission field, serving their community, loving people tangibly by devoting their time and energy to them, supporting their families at home, etc. Me, I live at my workplace. It seems my every waking moment is spent serving corporate America and not my King. My heart longs for the opportunity to live the lives of those I see practicing His ministry in all those ways I mentioned before. But, my life does not look like theirs and it grieves me.

As I sit here, meditating on God’s word, seeking Him and His will for my life, I come to this realization: exactly the position He has me now is where I am to serve Him in all the ways I long for. He opened my eyes to see the “church” within the sphere of my everyday life and the opportunities He has provided me to help others. He revealed the ripe mission field right before me, ready to be harvested. He has renewed my commitment to loving and serving my husband and children first and foremost, charging me with required change and redirected focus. He encourages me to trust Him in everything; every place he has me, every person he puts in my life, and every opportunity He gives me to serve others. He will give me the strength to accomplish all HE has put in my life as well the wisdom to remove what HE has not. I need only to seek Him, trust Him and rely on Him for everything.

Contentment with the life He has given is essential to resting in His sovereignty. Over-commitment is the tendency we must avoid. Perpetual dependence upon Him is the sustaining element which keeps us continually moving forward toward the ultimate goal: entering into eternity to hear His welcoming voice saying: “Well done my good and faithful servant.”

Matthew 6:33 “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

One response to “Work-Life Balance

Leave a Reply

