Good Steward?

steward

1 Peter 4:10–11 As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace: whoever speaks, as one who speaks oracles of God; whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies—in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ.

I had one of those “throw in the towel” days. For no good reason I just wanted to give up. Work is hard, but not any harder than yesterday. My blog went unread, but not any different than other days. My house is unkempt, but not any worse than the week before. Even my car has an extra layer of dust on it, but it runs all the same. There was nothing life-shattering to drag me down; but I wanted to quit working hard at any of it anyway. In my pathetic little “mood,” I came home from another long day at work and sat at my computer to put together what I believed would be another forgetful devotion. With a deep sigh, I settled in to half-heartedly write. As I did my attention was drawn to a little piece of paper off to the side with 1 Peter 4:8-11 written on it. Normally I scribble scriptures or revelations down so I will remember to write about them later. But this note I could not recall writing or the purpose for the prompting. As I opened my Bible to read it, I realized the note’s intent was for this very moment. Instantly, it addressed my current refrain. With grumbling and complaining I cheaply handled each gift from God. My job, this blog, my home, my car, etc. are all perfect and precious gifts from the Father and I am simply a steward there of.  But I have not behaved like a “good steward;” I chosen to behave as an ungrateful one, especially in regard to my job. Instead of serving “by the strength that God supplies” (and He supplies strength in abundance), I have attempted (again) to use my limited abilities. What is the result? A worn out servant poorly representing the manifold grace of God. Each of these gifts is to be used to serve others with grace through Jesus Christ, not to serve me through me. Each of these gifts should be carefully taken care of, nurtured and fed to perpetuate blessing, not ignored or abused so they wither and die. In all the Lord God has given I should rely on His strength to work extra hard in keeping His gifts that He may receive glory and honor. With another deep sigh, I resolve to try again. Alas, tomorrow is another day. This time, I’ll rely on His strength and not my own.

1 Corinthians 4:2 Moreover, it is required of stewards that they be found faithful.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

