Like everyone else?

Rom 3:9 What then? Are we better than they? Not at all.

I made a foolish statement yesterday, “I’m not like everyone else!”  Feeling sorry for myself, the amount of work I’m responsible for and the pressure to accomplish my tasks according to everyone’s expectations has taken its toll. For the past few days I have skipped my quiet time with the Lord to get to work early trying to meet my deadlines. My gas tank is now empty. My flesh and wicked heart now exposed. Self rears her ugly head to remind me; she is alive and well.

Indeed I am just like everyone else. I am a sinner in need of a Savior. I am flesh with a sinful nature. If I am to declare that I am NOT like everyone else, the only obvious factor setting me apart should be the precious blood of Jesus, the seal of the Holy Spirit, with His righteousness as evidence in my countenance. The active demonstration of which should be the fruit of His spirit: love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. But unless I willingly submit myself in complete and utter surrender to Him, unless I am in sweet fellowship with Him daily in His word, in prayer, and devotion, the weeds of my old life and my sinful nature begin to grow and make evident my lack of spiritual nourishment.

This is where I am today.

Confession is sweet to those who know Him. Praise God He is faithful, kind, just and full of love. He does not reject the humble and contrite heart willing to confess sin and shame. No, He receives us, cleanses us, and picks us up with His righteous right hand setting us back upon His path. He pours out His Spirit upon us to keep us walking through our lives according to His word. We go forward, thanking Him and praising Him for His unfailing love.

Today, as I set out on my own journey with a renewed spirit, may we all set out with the same heart demonstrating our difference from the world by walking as children of light and not darkness, set apart and Holy as He is Holy.

1 Pet 2:9 But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

