Redeeming the time

time

Ecclesiastes 3:1 For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven…

Maybe it’s the fact I will be half-a-century old that has me feeling the need to re-evaluate my priorities. Maybe it’s the small world we live in which seems to get smaller everyday under the microscope of social media that has me feeling everything is changing too fast. How do I keep up? How do I redeem one minute when it passes so quickly? Everything is moving and changing at lightning speed and I am moving and changing at a snail’s pace. My once athletic body is growing softer. My bones ache more deeply. My memory goes on “screen saver” more frequently. Still, it seems like yesterday when my skin was young, my capacity to do it all was at its peak, and my children still called me, “Mommy.” What do I do now? How do I redeem the time I have left here in this life that I might leave a lasting heritage the Lord would be pleased with when it seems I have such little time in my day to give?

Although I might not be able to regain opportunities lost forever, I have everything I need to make every moment count. The tiny world with all its great problems I can cover with prayer more diligently and with greater urgency. The little time I have I can be careful not to waste on distractions or habits that gain nothing for His kingdom. My body and my mind need not deteriorate more quickly than age allows; I can discipline myself take care of both with exercise and healthy food. To avoid spiritual stagnation, I can be in the Word every day, studying and growing in the knowledge of Him and reflecting His character more and more. Even if I can’t change as fast as the world, I can change the world as fast as I can with each moment in time He has given.

Today, join me in considering the time we have been given as good stewards making the most of each and every moment. Prepare and plan as the Lord wills. Invest your resources, your energy, time and money into His kingdom cause, careful not to waste it on the temporal or evil. Mostly, treat every day as if it were your last, covering every second with His love. Don’t waste another moment doing anything less.

Ephesians 5:15–16  Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

