This life is not my own

Philippians 2:8 And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.

Perhaps the hardest thing for me to do in life is to hold on loosely. To what, you may ask? Hold loosely everything in life; to home, job, children, ministry, material goods, etc. Not that I should be a poor steward or not care about these blessing, but that I should not claim them as solely my own, attained on my own, part of my identity, or mine permanently. If Jesus, fully God, willing left the glory in Heaven to come to us wrapped in human flesh all for our sake, for our salvation, how much more should I be willing to leave it all for Him? While He never gave up His deity, He chose to be treated as a commoner, to be ridiculed, rejected and ultimately crucified as a criminal for the sake of His enemies; for my sake.

My conviction: Who do I think I am that I should consider this life my own, living for myself, gaining material goods and accolades as if they were owed to me? He rightly deserved praise and honor, but was insulted and tortured. He could have rained down judgment upon his enemies, but instead humbly accepted their vile treatment; never using His divine power to hurt them in return. Who am I that I should seek out vengeance or carry tormenting bitterness for those who have or continue to hurt me? O, that I would pray as He did: “Forgive them for they know not what they do!” He could have used his infinite wisdom and almighty power to gain everything in this world. Even when tempted by Satan, the enemy of our souls, He rebuked him and his offer of kingdoms, wealth and power in this world. Instead, He chose a carpenters life and a sojourners life. Who do I think I am that I should strive for greater gain in a world that is passing away? This life does not belong to me. It belongs to HIM. Everything I have procured by Him, I willing surrender to His sovereignty. It is all by Him and for Him.

Today, remember our lives are wrapped in His. Choose to live by faith in our sweet Jesus. O! What joy and peace we would have! This new life in Him and the hope of eternal life is ours; attained by God’s grace alone. We are identified with Him and we will not be removed from His hand. Though this world and all it tempts us to hang on to is temporary; His kingdom is established FOREVER. Today, may we declare in our hearts: “It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me.”

Galatians 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

