Be kind to more than strangers

kindness

Proverbs 19:17 Whoever is generous to the poor lends to the Lord, and he will repay him for his deed.

Community camp sites are a great place to minister to strangers. Someone inevitably forgets something important; a hammer, rope, matches, firewood, etc. Far from the creature comforts of home or the convenience of your local corner market, depending on your fellow-campers for a helping hand is a necessity. We made ourselves available to help our little camping community on many occasions. Well, I must confess; my husband did most of the helping. As I cooked dinner, I watched him move from one campsite to the next offering assistance where needed. First, he helped a young couple put up their new-fangled tent together (the YouTube video they were trying to follow on their electronic gizmo was not working out). Shortly thereafter, he helped another young husband with his campfire, then another family to round up their wayward kiddos who had wondered too far way, then another with ideas for camp-food. He used every opportunity to demonstrate acts of kindness to even the strangest of strangers.

But now, here at home among the people we see every day; our children, our neighbors, our coworkers, our friends…even each other. Have we continued to practice the same kindness? Have we gone out of our way to intentionally minister and serve with the same fervor and with the same purpose to glorifying God? To my shame, I have not. I take for granted the moment by moment opportunities to bless and minister to my husband and children. I neglect even the simplest things with the greatest impact like a glass of water, a ride to school or work, or even the television remote control. I must confess; it is the people within the walls of my tiny home, this sanctuary from the world, to whom I should seek to show kindness first, foremost, and consistently; but I fail so miserably at doing.

Today, within our sphere of influence, may we intentionally practice kindness towards those we see every day. Let us not take for granted or ignore the immediate and sometimes insignificant opportunities to bless. May we seriously consider each familiar relationship with a fresh perspective and renewed passion, ready to practically show love, even when it’s difficult. May we accept the surprised reactions from those we’ve taken for granted as confirmation of our overdue affection. With consistent practice and humble sincerity, we will find greater ease and experience greater reward than we imagined possible.

2 Timothy 2:24 And the Lord’s servant must not be quarrelsome but kind to everyone, able to teach, patiently enduring evil,

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

