Reputation

alone2

1 Kings 15:5 …David did what was right in the eyes of the Lord and did not turn aside from anything that he commanded him all the days of his life, except in the matter of Uriah the Hittite.

There is much in my life I have been redeemed from. The grievous sins I indulged in make me shudder today when I think of them. My lament runs deeper when I see glimpses of indignation in my brother’s eye; the remnant of shame and disappointment from our painful past. It was many years ago and much time has passed between the old life and the new. Still, it takes years for the shadow of a disparaging reputation to fade in the light of sustained sanctification. In the waiting, in the enduring, with the memories playing as a constant reminder; we can grow weary and discouraged. “Will this ever end? Will I ever be seen for who I am today and not the person I was yesterday?” We can easily fall into despair.

David understood this struggle well. The man after God’s own heart was far from perfect. His epitaph rings out over history as the man who “did what was right in the eyes of the Lord,” but includes a glaring “EXCEPT” in the end. The ever present reminder of the dreadful sin with Bathsheba and the murder of her husband, Uriah, would follow him into our present day. Here, in this world, David would be remembered by his devoted life to the Lord as well as his heinous sin. In spite of it all, not one ounce of credibility is lost in the God-inspired psalms David penned. No one, even today, would doubt David’s love, devotion, and obedience to the Lord. The slain giant Goliath, the many battles won, the brotherly love for his friend Jonathan, the city he built, and faithful service to God’s people will remain profound accomplishments by King David, in spite of his failure.

Perhaps today your repentant journey as a Christian has just begun. The people in your life may treat you the same, or only see you for what you were, or perhaps they don’t believe you’ve changed at all. After a few days, months or even years as a Christian, your old reputation still precedes you. Don’t lose heart. Our Heavenly Father chooses not to remember the sins He forgave by the precious blood of Jesus. When He sees us, He sees only his precious child washed white as snow. He sees Jesus’ reputation and life in us. O! And He is well pleased when we walk in Him, by Him and through Him. Press on with me, my friends! Let us leave that life behind! Even if the world reminds us of who we used to be, may we keep our eyes fixed upon the light of our eternity ahead and remember, HE sees our sin no more!

1 John 3:2–3 Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is. And everyone who thus hopes in him purifies himself as he is pure.

 

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

