The Tiny Tangible

hug2

Psalm 38:15 But for you, O Lord, do I wait; it is you, O Lord my God, who will answer.

Today, I unexpectedly needed to take my mother to the doctor. Thankfully, her condition was not serious and after receiving medical advice and a script, we headed back home. On the way she told me how lately she’s been feeling really lonely. But just a day or so ago, while sitting alone and crying to herself, she began to pray, “Lord, I could really use one of your hugs right now. But, I trust You. I’ll be okay. I know You love me.” Not long after praying one of the medical technicians at the home where she stays noticed my mom sitting alone and looking sad. “What’s wrong? Are you okay?” she asked. “O I’m fine; just a little blue.” My mom replied as she most likely mustered up a smile. “Here, let me give you a hug!” Then the young lady bent down and gave my mom a tight, warm hug. My mom joyfully concluded: “God answered my little prayer! That hug was everything I needed!” It wasn’t just the hug that healed my mother’s lonely heart, it was in the knowing God had heard her tiny, little prayer for a tiny bit of tangible and He answered in a great big way.

This sweet interaction between my Mom and her Savior is a perfect example of His willingness to answer our prayers with a physical response to a physical & spiritual need. Like the little cloud over a distant horizon in response to Elijah’s fervent prayer, He answers tangibly and in a big way. We need only to go to Him in prayer! When we do, may we remember to praise Him when He answers immediately, tangibly, and favorably, as well as when He answers, “no,” or “not right now.” Even when His answer is delayed or when it is answered differently than we asked, may we accept His position joyfully. Rest assured; God hears. God knows. God’s answer and timing is always perfect!

Matthew 6:7–8 “And when you pray, do not heap up empty phrases as the Gentiles do, for they think that they will be heard for their many words. Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.”

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

