Sweet diversion

break: (nonn) definition #5 – interruption of continuity

Sunday morning I woke up early to get ready for church, ministry and write the morning’s devotion. With the sun still rising, the house peaceful and quiet; I thought to myself; “This will be a sweet time with the Lord.” But as I entered my “girl-cave,” (the room my family put together for my quiet time and dressing), I noticed someone sleeping on the daybed. It was my son’s girlfriend, safely and comfortably crashed out in my room. I had forgotten I offered her a place to stay while her apartment was being readied for her to move. So, I did my best to quietly grab some clothes from the closet and my laptop then carefully tip-toed out without waking her. She didn’t even flinch. Ahhh, success! I left her to rest and continued getting ready for the day minus writing the morning devotion.

Interruptions aren’t always welcome diversions. Not for me at least! For the most part, I become completely unnerved when my schedule is askew because of some emergency, phone call, new expectation from my boss, or unexpected visitor. I’m most especially annoyed when it comes from my husband or children! “I could have accomplished so much more in my day if this or that hadn’t happened!” The evidence is clear by my irritated countenance. I feel my day is ruined. Instead, of welcoming the change in my plans and adjusting, I am annoyed. While scheduled order is my preferred environment the reality is, nothing in life works that way.

But Sunday’s change in schedule helped me realize, interruptions are usually blessings in disguise. They’re a new design by God for my day. Thinking back through last week’s events and unexpected additions to my “to-do” list; I see now they were all chances for me to reprioritize my day with His perfect plan in mind, not mine. Sunday, His plan came in the form of this sweet, young girl. I’m thankful for the diversion and welcome God’s invitation to bless and demonstrate His love in a tangible way.

Perhaps your course will be changed by your waking newborn in the early morning hours, or the urgent cry: “I gotta potty!” from your newly toilet-trained toddler. Or, it may come in the form of a phone call in the middle of the night for prayer, or a project emergency you have to take care of immediately. Whatever the Lord intends for you throughout your day and week, welcome it as a heavenly diversion. Even if the enemy is up to his destructive tricks; those moments especially are used for His glory when we commit them to prayer and joyfully accept His plan.

Proverbs 19:21 Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.

lit road

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

