When we first believed…

Galatians 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

How fitting this would be the subject of Sunday’s teaching; the very essence of the Gospel of Jesus Christ taught in the midst of this weekend’s evangelical outreach! What a great reminder of the childlike faith we accepted Him in, the zeal for new life, and the overflowing joy we once had as new believers. Our salvation is secured by grace through faith, and nothing of ourselves, but in the finished work of the Cross. But somewhere between our first confession of faith and our situation today, we have complicated the Gospel. For many of us, we have tried to incorporate working out our salvation in our own flesh through works, striving to please Him while living our own way, or we have just grown cynical through the frustration of trials. We’ve become…grumpy Christians.

Today, let us return to the simplicity and beauty of the Cross. Let us render ourselves crucified with Him and surrender ourselves to His Holy Spirit. Allow Him to live in us and manifest His character in us. Let us choose righteousness and holiness with JOY and thanksgiving, just like we did when we first put our faith in Jesus Christ, our savior and king!

Galatians 5:22–24 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

