Pure Worship

Rev 22: 9 .Worship God.

For those of you who may not already know, I serve as a percussionist on our church’s worship team. This honor and privilege I do not take lightly. Rehearsing and studying before Sunday’s service prepares me to worship in unity with the musicians and vocalists as well as the congregation; free to fully engage, completely abandoned. But last Sunday was a different story.

Our church switched from using floor monitors for the vocalist and musicians to using new “in-ear” monitors. The sound technicians now isolate rightly the instruments and volume required for each of us to hear and blend with. Without all the extra sound on stage, the sanctuary is filled with clear, crisp, musical worship. But this old girl was used to ambient sound bouncing throughout the room and the blaring guitar from the tiny floor monitor at her feet. As terrible as it sounded, I missed the chaotic resonance engulfing me. The controlled sound in my ears made me feel isolated and self-conscience. Even after rehearsing with the new monitors; I still struggled with mechanical performance which, I felt, prevented me from entering into true worship. We prayed and the team patiently worked with me until Sunday morning’s worship service began. At first, I tolerated the inconvenience as an interruption to my worship experience. Convincing myself I was being “selfless,” I continued playing with a bad attitude. My every thought was centered on how I missed what used to be.  Suddenly, I was shaken out of my self-loathing by the sound of heavenly voices singing out to my Savior and King! Where had I been all this time? How long have I been missing the sweet sound of my brothers and sisters singing from their seats in front of me? O, what a wretched sinner I am! Their voices lifting offerings of worship and praise echoed in the depths of my black heart. Like Isaiah, I suddenly felt “undone.” Through bittersweet tears, I continued to play my silly instruments repenting through every note. When the music stopped and the songs were sung, my heart praised Him silently in purity with a humbled and contrite spirit.

Perfect, unadulterated worship rises from a soul which recognizes its own depravity in stark contrast to a Holy, merciful God. Ascribe to Him today whole hearted worship with humble reverence, for He alone is worthy.

1 Chronicles 16:29 Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name; bring an offering and come before him! Worship the Lord in the splendor of holiness;

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

