Public Christians

John 12:42–43 Nevertheless, many even of the authorities believed in him, but for fear of the Pharisees they did not confess it, so that they would not be put out of the synagogue; for they loved the glory that comes from man more than the glory that comes from God.

 

Authorities; the people with notoriety or public standing believed Jesus was Messiah, Savior, and King. But for fear of losing their position or popularity, they did not confess it. Why? They wished to be accepted by the religious leaders and retain the special treatment they received for other people.

There are many public figures professing faith in Jesus Christ. They are open and unwavering, being careful to walk worthy of their calling. Some fail, get up and try again. Some do not. But in all cases they are in some way ostracized from their non-believing cohorts. They are criticized cruelly by the press. I believe there are many more believing public figures that simply do not publicly proclaim they are Christians for fear of the damage it will do to their public image.

We need to pray for our brothers and sisters in the public eye. Although they are outcasts, they are our brethren and fellow citizens of the Kingdom of God. Support them and pray for them. Prove to the world they belong to a group of loving people who belong to the king of the universe!

Matthew 10:32 “So everyone who acknowledges me before men, I also will acknowledge before my Father who is in heaven”

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a comment