Not of this world

John 17:16 “They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.”

Sometimes I covet the life of my friends who were or are homemakers. They wear many hats; maid, cook, nurse, accountant, contract negotiator, gardener, etc. How exciting! Some even home-school their kids, giving each child a full education based on their individual learning abilities and needs. They support each other, do things with their kids together, and maintain a safe and spiritually clean environment for their families. I love their world. But their world was not and still is not meant for me.

O, I still wore all those hats when my kids were young. But I wore them after 5 p.m. through 8:00 a.m. the next morning when I’d put on my career-woman hat for my 8 to 5 job. Sometimes, 5 turned into 6 or 7 so the “cook” hat had to be worn by my husband or the pizza delivery person. My kids missed out on all the fun stuff their friends got to do with the homemaker-moms. They had no mom at home to take them to soccer practice or boy scouts. They went to public school where their Christian values were put to the test. I missed out on the fellowship with other women who were focused on home, husband and children. Instead, I ate power-lunches through strategy meetings and raced to Evening Bible Study for working women only to fall asleep half-way through prayer. This is MY world which is completely different from theirs.

In reality, both worlds are exactly the same. We, who call ourselves children of the living God, are all in the same position no matter what role he placed us in. Whether we became a homemaker, or pursued a career, or stayed single, or remained childless; we are all not of this world. Our focus should not be on our discontentment with the differences in our positions. Instead, it should be on the certainty of our equality in that WE ARE NOT OF THIS WORLD. May our unity as coheirs and fellow citizens of His kingdom be a shining example of hope to this lost and dying world.

John 17:20–21 “I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me.”

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

