Hidden from the wise

~Luke 10:21 In that same hour he rejoiced in the Holy Spirit and said, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children; yes, Father, for such was your gracious will.” ~

I tend to over-complicate things. For those of you who know me, I’m sure you’re chuckling. You know my mind frequently rummages over complex situations determining several different scenarios based on systematic strategies focused on various outcomes. For years I approached seeking the Lord and studying His word in the same fashion, all with very little effect on my spiritual life.

Jesus met many people like me; Nicodemus the Pharisee, the rich young ruler, and the lawyer with all the right answers. His responses to their questions were simple, divine truths.  But each was perplexed by philosophical lies disguised as religious wisdom. No man can attain to the wisdom of heaven by worldly merit. In order to receive understanding, they had to be born again, abandon all and humbly obey under any and all circumstances, even if it be undignified.

For me, it all changed when I stopped entering His presence with a stack of analytics and simply humbled myself with willing obedience. He suddenly breathed life into my understanding and revealed deeper truths, more than I had ever known before. Did I cease from being the “thinker” or suddenly became dull? No, not at all! But sadly to some of my closest family & friends, their answer would be, yes.

May we all be willing to be numbered among the simple that we may understand the hidden things of God!  Remember, God the Son rejoiced in the Holy Spirit over the secrets of God’s kingdom revealed to the childlike and unlearned. Why? Because it is God’s gracious will.

1 Corinthians 1:26–29 For consider your calling, brothers: not many of you were wise according to worldly standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth. But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are, so that no human being might boast in the presence of God.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

