Bit & Bridle

Psalm 32:9 Be not like a horse or a mule, without understanding, which must be curbed with bit and bridle, or it will not stay near you.

Guera (Spanish for white girl) and Susie; were my father’s horses. Each had their own distinct gifts and personalities.  Susie had a sweet disposition. She was a thoroughbred of some kind, a deep cinnamon color, lean and tall. She was my dad’s horse and he loved her.  She loved him and revered him. She would playfully snort in his ear, rub her nose on his head, or nudge him while he put hay in her corral. As a riding horse, she wasn’t the most graceful creature on the trail, but she was the fastest! However, she was skittish which required my dad to work patiently with her.  Even so, she seemed to always want to please my dad who could ride her with ease. She rarely needed a bit or firm tug on the reins. A gentle nudge was all that was required and she’d move in any direction you wished …unless there was a puddle. O dear! Puddles were scary things to her!

For a time, my dad made me responsible for Guera. She was a very light colored palomino, “Charro” trained, mature and a fantastic riding horse. She made any amateur look like a professional rider, even me. But she was rebellious. She had to be bridled with an uncomfortable bit. Her rider had to command a firm posture and be very careful not to loosely grip her reins. But the worse thing about Guera; she hated other horses. She would kick and stretch her neck out to bite them. If we rode in a group, I would have to ride all the way up front safely away from other horses or way in the back, fighting her aggressive attempts to race to the front. She was exhausting. Thinking back, I believe my dad gave her to me on purpose!

Sadly, my relationship with the Lord looked much like my relationship with Guera. It was the bit and bridle for me for many years. Still, He never gave up on me, but faithfully and patiently continued with me, teaching me His ways with His eyes ever upon me.

Praise God He is just as patient with the willing heart of the stubborn as He is with the “skittish” heart of the submitted. He is always faithful, ever present, full of grace and mercy. In time, trust replaces the bridle and surrender replaces the bit until pure love keeps us  closer to Him than we have ever been before.

Isaiah 48:17 Thus says the Lord, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the Lord your God, who teaches you to profit, who leads you in the way you should go.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

