Sojourners

Hebrews 11:13b “…strangers and exiles on the earth.”

There was a season in my life when all I desired was a house to own. Having a house meant safety, security, wealth and status. All of my time and resources went to paying for the house, maintaining it, cleaning it, and upgrading it. My children weren’t allowed to horse-play in it or leave a mess. It was kept shiny and pristine. It was my trophy I beamed with pride over. But that house was sold for another. The other house sold for smaller one. The smaller one lost in foreclosure. Now, I live in someone else’s house.

I’m in a better place.

Owning a house is not a bad thing. In fact, it’s a really good thing. But if the house begins to own you instead of you owning the house, the blessing becomes a curse. In my life, assigning my identity, my trust, my security and pride in my house led me to depend upon my own abilities and accomplishments. Could I have stayed in my big house and kept my heart in the right place? I most certainly should have! But I was too full of self-sufficiency and pride. I missed the blessing it was meant to be. I missed glorious opportunities to play with my children, family and friends. I used the best of my resources for petty things instead of better things; eternal things. Today, I am thankful for the whittled-down version of a home I have now. I love the “temporary” feeling it brings.  It reminds me I am just a sojourner here on this earth. Nothing I have today will go with me when pass from this life into the next. Instead, I store up eternal treasures where thief and moth cannot touch. My home is not here. My home is with my Master where He prepares a better place for me in His kingdom for eternity!

Luke 12:32–34 “Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom. Sell your possessions, and give to the needy. Provide yourselves with moneybags that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

