Letting go of children

Proverbs 1:8–9 Hear, my son, your father’s instruction, and forsake not your mother’s teaching, for they are a graceful garland for your head and pendants for your neck.

I have had the blessing of raising children. All six of our children are adults. Three are married with children of their own. They struggle like we struggled but they’re persevering. The three not yet married work hard. They struggle too, and are persevering. Two of these young adults have been living with me and my husband. They enjoy the blessings of being under our household while enduring the challenges of adulthood under parents. My husband and I enjoy this short time with them before they venture into the world while struggling to see them as adults and not children, suppressing the desire to take care of their every need.

Well, maybe the struggle belongs to only me.

The time has come to let go. While I want to cram as much into these last few moments; all the things I didn’t teach them, all the things I need to repair, all the time I wish I had spent enjoying them and not fretting. It’s too late for all of that now. Tomorrow has arrived and yesterday is gone. The future is theirs now and I can only wait, watch and see. It’s time to let them go.

We are blessed, truly blessed to see all they have become – striving adults with families of their own, with careers and dreams they diligently pursue. But my duty to them as a parent continues; for the remainder of my days I will be on my knees in prayer for each and every one of them, for my daughter-in-laws and my son-in-law, for my grandchildren and great grandchildren. While their lives will continue on without my physical presence, they carry with them a mother (and step-mother)’s love. In this, I will never let go.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

