It is finished.

John 19:28–30 After this, Jesus, knowing that all was now finished, said (to fulfill the Scripture), “I thirst.” A jar full of sour wine stood there, so they put a sponge full of the sour wine on a hyssop branch and held it to his mouth. When Jesus had received the sour wine, he said, “It is finished,” and he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.

These words overwhelm my thoughts and my quiet time with Him today. The whole of salvation culminated in the very moment He declares: “It is finished.” How many times have I read this? How many times have I rejoiced in the finished work of the Cross? Yet, here I am completely sobered to a new level by the magnificence of it all. I am overwhelmed! God incarnate! The perfect, spotless Lamb! I could have stood right next to Him and not recognized Him.  My carnal eyes would fail to perceive His holiness and divine power as I stood in complete contrast to Him. But what I am confounded by the most is His deliberate, orchestrated, and fixed willingness to endure the penalty for sin that should have been mine.  Enduring the wrath of God, He stood in my place, to redeem me, to save me; all because He loves me. Jesus, my Propitiation, my Redeemer, and my beloved Savior! My life is yours!

Romans 5:9–11 Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God. For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. More than that, we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

