His obedience

John 19:28 After this, Jesus, knowing that all was now finished, said (to fulfill the Scripture), “I thirst.”

I have been preoccupied with this scripture for days. I thought at first I would write about being thirsty after long physical endurance races, how our human bodies send triggers to our brain and tell us when we need water, making us thirsty correlating Jesus’ thirst in his last moments with our human thirst. Or I thought to write about how Jesus became thirsty and stopped at the well in Samaria promising a woman there she’d have living water and never thirst again…But none of those subjects are the basis for my wondering. After much pondering and searching in God’s word, I found the reason behind the power these two words have had on me: it is His awesome attention to every detail of scripture, prophesy and purpose in life – from His birth, to the point of His death and ultimately – His resurrection.

“I thirst.”

It would seem logical that Jesus would thirst. His body has been beaten, scourged, and then made to bear the heavy cross. From a simply biological view point, his body needed water so therefore, he is thirsty. Perhaps, yes. But it also says, “to fulfill the Scripture.” Psalm 69:21 “They gave me poison for food, and for my thirst they gave me sour wine to drink.”  The moment had come. Having endured the punishment which should have been ours, He fully paid the price for our sins. Now, the end is here. It is finished, but there is one thing left to do – finish fulfilling scripture. In every detail, Jesus obeyed the Father, He obeyed scripture, up to the very last breath.

Jesus modeled perfect obedience to the Father. He encouraged His disciples to obey His words as He obeyed. He encourages us to do the same today.  Not just in the big things, but in the little tiny details of life as well. They’re important. We might not think them important at the moment, but they are. Trust Him with every detail in life, living honorably and obediently towards Him who saved us.

John 14:23–24 Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. Whoever does not love me does not keep my words. And the word that you hear is not mine but the Father’s who sent me.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

