What a friend we have in Jesus

Proverbs 18:24  A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

I am blessed to have good friends. We may not be “close,” in the sense of spending lots of time together. But we have a confidence in our relationships when, in spite of the time apart, we can count on each other for prayer, support, companionship and plain ol’ fun!  While I thank God for these precious relationships, I am most thankful for the friend I have in Jesus.

“What a Friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear! What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer! O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear, all because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.” ~ Joseph Scriven / Hymn: What a Friend We Have in Jesus.

When I consider all the things a perfect friend is, I can think of no one more perfect than Jesus. He loved me when I was His enemy (Rom 5:10). He paid the ultimate price for the penalty I owed for all my sins (Col 2:14). He never leaves me (Matt 28:10). He never forsakes me (Heb 13:4). He is interceding for me (John 17). He hears me (Ps 145:9). He protects me (1 John 5:18). He provides for my every need (Matt 6:30).  I could go on and on to list all He is and all He does and still my words would fall short and the pages would exceed in number… Truly, what a privilege to have a friend in Jesus! What else is there to do but to respond with all our hearts in obedience to His word and praise His name: JESUS!

John 15:13–15 Greater love has no one than this that someone lay down his life for his friends.  You are my friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

