I am His beloved?

One of the first Christian books I ever read was “Hinds’ Feet on High Places.” It’s an allegory about our spiritual journey starting with our first steps in believing faith to our triumphant lives in Christ. In the final chapters the main character, Much Afraid, leaves the safety of her little cave and with her newly strengthened legs begins to leap upon the cliffs above the canyon up to the majestic mountains, the “high places,” where her loving Shepherd waits….

Now, I’m not one for fairy tales. The way I see it, that knight in shining armor strolling up on his white steed isn’t here for me. He’s here to pick up my sister. Even more so, I could never see myself being called the apple of the Creator’s eye. That position belonged to other people who were more worthy or more spiritual than me. I pictured myself in the story standing at the door way of the cave watching Much Afraid leaping and bounding up to the High Places where she finally meets her beloved Shepherd. I am sincerely happy for her, even moved to tears of joy. But I never imagine myself in her place. Instead, I just sit there in that little cave on a lonely plateau where I belong…

Are you in that place today? Are you feeling unworthy? Even though you know you’ve been called a child of God you still feel like the grubby little urchin waiting at the end of a line of better kids hoping they’ll be a crumb of blessing left for you. DON’T BELIEVE IT! Our Shepherd has blessed us with every spiritual blessing (Eph 1:3). He calls us His sons and daughters and we call him “Daddy!” (Eph 4:7). We are His heirs! (Rom 8:17) His Kingdom is ours! (Matt 5:3) Remember, Jesus asked a bunch of grubby little urchins to climb into His lap saying: “Let the children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God.” (Mark 10:14). It’s time to step out of the cave and exercise those spiritual legs you have been blessed with. It’s time to leap upon the cliffs above the valley you wandered in and take your place in the High Places with Him. It really is where you belong!

1 Peter 2:9 But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.

beloved

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

