Blown it big?

imagesCADJGT3O

Have you ever blown it big? I mean REALLY big. I’m talking about a time when you knew, beyond a shadow of a doubt that what you’re doing is sin; black, defiling, wicked, depraved SIN. It feels like you’re writhing inside, your stomach is turned, your whole body aches. What you’re doing is more than uncomfortable, it’s painful and you’re groaning inside. It may be a secret sin no one else sees or knows about. But you know and you know HE knows…

Well, I have been in this place; more than once. Sadly, the sting fades after the first time. Those old stinky clothes of a life I was redeemed from lose their stench. The darkness I chose “feels” like light, and lies begin to feel like truth.  My heart becomes callous to the prick of the Holy Spirit.  I become comfortable in a place where His blessings no longer abound. The longer I linger here, the easier it becomes to stay. While pretending to be satisfied and mustering up “happiness,” I find no real peace in this place. No amounts of lies will ever over shadow His truth. I am no longer my own and this place I chose to wander into is no longer where I belong.

2 Samuel 12:7 Nathan said to David, “You are the man!”

Many of us already know the story; the man after God’s own heart falls into great sin. Perhaps familiarity crept into the life of David and his comfort blinded him to the reality of his own depravity. He chose to sin with Bathsheba then murdered her husband, and ultimately used his authority to conceal the truth. But God did not leave David in such a place.  He uses the prophet Nathan to shine the light of truth into the dark recesses of David’s heart. While David may have forgotten God’s heart for a moment, God never forgot David’s.  For the sake of His name and the plan of redemption, God reaches in and snatches David from the snare of self-righteousness and sin.

It is the same for us who truly belong to God. There is no place too far for Him to reach us, no length of time too long for Him to wait, no sin so great the precious blood of Christ will not cover. When we, like David, cry out to God to confess we have sinned against Him and Him alone, He is faithful to forgive.  He will always be faithful to purify, faithful to restore and ready to uphold us when we truly surrender (Psalm 51).

Luke 15:3–7 So he told them this parable: “What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, and go after the one that is lost, until he finds it? And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and his neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep that was lost.’ Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance.”

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

