Not ashamed of the Gospel?

Romans 1:16 (ESV) For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.

I remember when I was first saved I shared the Gospel with everyone I could. I didn’t possess a theological degree or years of biblical study. The only scripture I could recite was John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.” All I needed to know in that moment was; I believe Jesus is the Son of God who out of His great love for me died for my sins, cleansed me, giving me a new life here on earth and life eternal with Him forever. I was so elated by my new life in Jesus I could not help but share the Gospel with others. But today, I do not.

What happened? Where did my boldness go? Having become more worried about what people might think of me or their rejection did I snuff out the fire that once burned bright inside me? Did I disqualify myself because I didn’t go to Bible College or study the art of evangelism? Did I hand the mantle to my pastor or other teachers with position and degree as if it were their job alone? Or am I simply a coward? I confess; all of the above.

Maybe today you’re feeling your evangelistic fervor has faded too. Caution has overtaken boldness leaving painful memories of opportunities lost.  However, it’s not too late to start anew! Today is a new day! Join me and say: I will not be ashamed of the Gospel! I will not be afraid! He is faithful and He will give us all we need to share his word. We need only to obey the prompting of the Holy Spirit and rely solely upon His power to do the rest!

Matthew 28:18–20   And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

sharing gospel

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

