Revival

Gypsy Smith was once asked how to start a revival.

He answered: “Go home, lock yourself in your room, kneel down in the middle of your floor. Draw a chalk mark all around yourself and ask God to start the revival inside that chalk mark. When He has answered your prayer, the revival will be on.”

—Missionary Worker (Encyclopedia of 7700 Illustrations: Signs of the Times)

One of my favorite stories is of Zacchaeus and Jesus’ visit to this sinner’s house. O how the religious leaders criticized Him! Jesus’ response: “For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.” Luk 19:10.

We can look at the current condition of our country and the world and become discouraged. We can act out in our anger and indignation over the depravity and become embittered. But we are called to be like Jesus, to share the Gospel, to save the lost.

If we are to have His heart for the lost, we must first come to terms with our own depravity, our own need for deliverance from our own sins deep within. Revival starts with ONE person’s surrender to God, ONE person being filled with the Holy Spirit, ONE person stepping out and saying: I want to be like JESUS! Imagine if we all stepped into our own room, got on our knees to pray and declared like young, Isaiah: “Here I am! Send me.” Is 6:8. What a revival there would be!

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

