Fear

Daniel 4:5 I saw a dream that made me afraid. As I lay in bed the fancies and the visions of my head alarmed me.

A loud noise, the speeding car you see in your rear-view mirror, the shifting rocks underneath your feet while you’re hiking along a mountainside, or just an eerie feeling instantly result in a fear response. It’s natural. Both biological and emotional responses are immediately rationalized into real or false fears and put in perspective; but sometimes not. Fear can also paralyze us and keep us from moving forward making us ineffective and sometimes a danger to others.

Are you afraid? I am. The fear of not being able to keep my friends and family safe on the road is grappling with my obligation to continue leading my bike team. Recently a dear friend was nearly killed in a bike accident during our annual bike ride. Then just a few days ago a young girl was killed in a bike accident in my neighborhood driving this fear even further into my heart. As much as I impart safety to my fellow bike riders and shepherd the new and seasoned riders on my team, I realize – I have no control over the environment around us. I have no control.

Put in proper perspective – I must trust and put my confidence, not in my ability to train and keep people safe but in God who is sovereign over all. Faith frees me to move forward confidently. Praise God HE is in control and not me.

2 Timothy 1:6–7 For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

