Love my enemy

John 13:2–5 During supper, when the devil had already put it into the heart of Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, to betray him, Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into his hands, and that he had come from God and was going back to God, rose from supper. He laid aside his outer garments, and taking a towel, tied it around his waist. Then he poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet and to wipe them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

Before He offered Himself as a sacrifice for all our sins, He took the role as the lowliest servant and washed the feet of the disciples. Jesus already knew they would fall asleep while they should be on guard. He knew Peter would break his promise and deny Him. Most of all, he already knew Judas would betray Him with a kiss. Still, He washed the feet of each and every one of them. He didn’t skip Judas. Instead, He washed the feet of his betrayer. Not less than the others, not harshly, not with an embittered countenance. No, he washed the feet Judas whose heart was already filled with the devil, the same as all the others.

Sadly, I find my application of this principle far from perfect. I don’t even think it counts as a trying! Most of the time my attempt is with half my heart, indifferent and resentful. I grumble, thinking and even saying rude and obnoxious things after serving my enemy. Despicable. Clothed in my own righteousness and not His – I fail every time. If I would humble myself – as He did; if I allow myself to be filled with His love; if I surrender to the fact – I am not the weigher of men’s hearts, only HE is; O, how He would move in me and through me to perform this perfect miracle of love towards others.

Thank you, Lord for not just teaching us your words, but you also practically and divinely demonstrated them so I would understand how much I need you to put this into practice in my life.

“But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” (Matt 5:44)

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

