Return to the Lord!

Hosea 6:1-3

“Come on! Let’s return to the LORD!

He himself has torn us to pieces,

but he will heal us!

He has injured us,

but he will bandage our wounds!

He will restore us in a very short time;

he will heal us in a little while,

so that we may live in his presence.”

 

Too many times I turned away from God and went my own way. Foolish now when I think back. But at the time I wandered away, I still wanted to be in both worlds. I wanted my way and His way. I wanted the “happiness” the world promised and the protection of my Holy Father. I wanted Him to bless my life while I rebelled against His will. I wanted with hardly a thought of what HE wanted. Give me, give me, give me! Never, I give Thee, I give Thee, I give Thee. Each time I tasted what the world had to offer, it was like ash. Try again, and it was bitter. Try again, and it left me empty.

Have you ever felt so convicted by your failure and sin that you were too ashamed to turn back to God? Too afraid to leave the pig-slop? Too afraid to jump from the boat into the water and swim to shore where Jesus is waiting? I have….many times I am ashamed to admit. Yet, each time I returned, He was always there. Though my eyes and heart wandered, HIS were ever upon me. EVERY time I cried out to Him with a humble and repentant heart, HE rescued me “…as certainly as the appearance of the dawn.”

Today, if you find yourself far away…RETURN. You will find He is waiting there for you, to heal you, bandage your wounds and restore you.

John 8:10–11 Jesus stood up and said to her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?” She said, “No one, Lord.” And Jesus said, “Neither do I condemn you; go, and from now on sin no more.”

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

