His Banner

A Banner: Generally, a standard raised in battle as a rallying point for armies.

Today is Flag Day here in the United States. I have a deep appreciation for our flag. It reminds me of my father, my son, brother, uncles, cousins and friends who served bravely for our country. They imparted to me a deep reverence for it as memorial to those who served before them. It is the symbol of unity as poignantly stated in our Pledge of Allegiance: “…one nation under God.” Old Glory: our rallying point when terror and destruction strike the hearts of our nation’s citizens.

Today, I hope each of us takes time to thank God for our country, for the men and women who forged and fought for the freedoms we enjoy. Even though we live in perilous times when our freedoms are at risk, when the moral foundations of our country crumble, when the grief brought on by the degradation of the words our forefathers penned is amplified by the removal of God from manuscripts – even so, do not let your heart be troubled. But instead, let us keep our trust and hope fixed upon our TRUE banner: OUR GOD!

Psalm 20:5 May we shout for joy over your salvation, and in the name of our God set up our banners! May the LORD fulfill all your petitions!

About athenammorris

Wife, mother, step-mother, and grandmother. I first came to the Lord in 1986. However, I backslid for a few years and rededicated my life to the Lord in 1990. Since then, my road through sanctification has been long and hard; mostly the result of my own rebellion. However in 2011, I finally I completely surrendered to His will and not my own and began to experience spiritual growth. My hope for this blog; people will be encouraged in their daily walk with the Lord. I'm a normal-joe-Christian just like every other Christian; struggling with the flesh, enduring trials, living life all with the intent of glorify and pleasing God. View all posts by athenammorris

Leave a Reply

